Welcome to my World

Adjust Your Sails
12 min readJan 31, 2022

Everyday I wake up next to the most amazing man I have ever met. No, he isn’t perfect, and it took something big for me to accept that. For twenty years I had him on a pedestal. He was always the one that got away. So, when we came back together all this time later the universe needed me to see him for who he truly is, not who I imagined him to be for so long.

I’m not perfect either. It’s something I’ve truly come to accept about me. It’s been so difficult with my Virgo Moon being conjunct Saturn. I want to be perfect and I want you to be perfect, too. But that isn’t realistic. It isn’t fair to me or to you. So, I’ve accepted progress as a better goal than perfection.

It used to matter so much to me that you believed I was perfect. Chiron in the tenth house, ruled by a sixth house Venus? Yeah, I didn’t want to be seen as even almost imperfect. I would bend over backwards in service to others just be told I was needed, valued, and belonged. That I was enough.

What that taught me is that I was needed, sure, but I was almost never valued, and seldom felt I belonged. Getting walked all over doesn’t ever make you feel like enough. No matter how long you let it happen. I had no idea how to set healthy boundaries. I chose to be a doormat for everyone, and then just complain about it to other women and people who did the same.

--

--

Adjust Your Sails

You must grow strong enough to love the world, yet empty enough to sit down at the same table with its worst horrors. ― Andrew Boyd