Coming to a Head: Power Plays

Adjust Your Sails
12 min readMay 19, 2023

I don’t know her story. From the day I met her the vibe was not vibing for me. Every day of my life I do my best to be conscious of judging others, but I had to actively watch myself. I hadn’t done anything to her, but her perception is going to be her reality, and that’s not personal to me.

This is me very humanely admitting that I need a weekend to do a spiritual reset with my soul. There is so much drama surrounding me. Today it had someone crying at work. I’ve gone to every one of them individually, taken accountability I owned, and told them what I didn’t. She stirs the pot daily.

Today I learned she started a group chat with other coworkers, and lied to them throughout. When I found my work daughter crying in the back I hugged her and we were talking. That’s when another girl comes up and starts apologizing to me. I was so confused.

She said that this other girl who started the chat told her that I had an issue with her. That we had some meeting where I was forced to apologize. That I was talking about the other coworkers, too. I was floored. It just isn’t true at all, not even almost. I never mentioned their names.

But baby, we all have red flags. The only difference is I am twice as old as her. I’ve had more time to sit with myself and learn what mine are. I grew uninterested in calling out the red flags of…

--

--

Adjust Your Sails

You must grow strong enough to love the world, yet empty enough to sit down at the same table with its worst horrors. ― Andrew Boyd